Forum on Information & Democracy

The Forum is an international entity founded by 11 independent organizations from different backgrounds and regions.


The Forum takes its mandate from the principles outlined in both the International Declaration and Partnership on Information & Democracy:


the means, norms and architectures of the global information and communication space;


corporate entities’ behaviour as regards adherence to the principles of the Declaration and Partnership;


recommendations to the different stakeholders that shape this space on how the norms should evolve;


the emergence of regulatory and self-regulatory responses by and for the different stakeholders;


the social function of journalism through innovative responses and recommendations;


The Board of directors determines the strategy of the Forum to pursue its mandate. It establishes the objectives, deliverables, resources and governance of the Working groups.

The Forum’s Board of Directors elected Christophe Deloire as its President. Nighat Dad and Leon Willems were elected as Vice-President and Treasurer.

Nighat Dad

Executive Director of the  Digital Rights Foundation

Christophe Deloire

Chair of the Board, Secretary General of Reporters Without Borders

Bruce Girard

Senior Researcher at Observacom

Sasha Havlicek

United kingdom
Founding CEO of the Institute for Strategic Dialogue

Alexa Koenig

United States
Executive Director of the  Human Rights Center at Berkeley School of Law

Joe Powell

United States

Deputy CEO of the Open Government Partnership

Bob Fay


Managing Director of digital economy of the Center for International Governance Innovation

Henrik Urdal


Executive Director of the Peace Research Institute Oslo

Anri van der Spuy

South Africa
Senior Associate of the Research ICT Africa

Susan Wilding

South Africa
Head of Geneva Office at Civicus

Leon Willems

Director of Free Press Unlimited

Permanent Secretariat

The Permanent Secretariat of the Forum is supported by Reporters Without Borders (RSF).

Operations managerCamille Grenier  
Public relations manager: Caroline Allheily
Policy: Antoine Bernard, Iris de Villars  
Communication: Emilie Poirrier  
Administration: Elodie Truchon 
Junior project manager (Intern): Pauline Malerbes